Agichem 6th International Conference on Inorganic Chemistry 2002

Feb 28, 2002

The Dalton Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry and the German Chemical Society are inviting to the 6th International Conference on Inorganic Chemistry at Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich, Germany 7-10 April 2002.


The 6th Anglo-German International Conference on Inorganic Chemistry — AGICHEM 2002 — will be held from the 7th to 10th of April 2002 in Munich, Germany. It is organized in cooperation with the German Chemical Society (Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker, GDCh) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), and will cover all important aspects of modern inorganic chemistry. The participation of students is encouraged by the provision of a limited number of student bursaries.

Scientific Programme

The scientific programme will comprise a prime-time poster session and 24 invited lectures. The poster session will be a key feature of the conference and will present contributions from all areas of inorganic chemistry.
The range of topics presented by the 24 invited speakers extends from computational chemistry, synthetic bio-inorganic, organometallic and coordination chemistry to material sciences. For the list of speakers and the titles of the plenary lectures see the topic Programme.

Location and Dates

The conference will be held at the Department of Chemistry of the Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich in the new High-Tech Campus Großhadern. It can easily be reached by U-Bahn (i.e. subway) and bus from the city.
Registration will start on Sunday afternoon, April 7th, and will be followed by an informal evening welcome Party with beer and pretzels on the Campus. Scientific Sessions will be held from Monday morning, April 8th to Wednesday afternoon, April 10th.


Plenary Lectures

Plenary lectures will be presented in 30 min and will be followed by a 10 min discussion. Two overhead projectors, a slide projector (for 5 x 5 cm slides) and a beamer together with a laptop will be available for the presentations. Speakers who would like to use the slide projector or the beamer are kindly asked to contact the Registration Desk one day before their presentation.

Poster Presentations

Panels of approximate size 100 x 100 cm and necessary materials to attach the posters will be provided. Posters should be attached on Monday morning, April 8th, and will be displayed during the whole conference. At least one of the presenting authors must be present during the poster sessions.

Conference Schedule

Sunday, April 7
15.00-20.00 Registration
19.00 Welcome Party
Monday, April 8
09.00 Opening of the Conference
(T.M. Klapötke)
09.10-09.50 Manfred Bochmann, University of East Anglia
Chemistry of Electron-deficient Metal-alkyl Complexes of Early Transition Metals
09.50-10.30 Dietmar Stalke, University of Würzburg
Phosphane and Phosphorane Janus-Head Ligands
10.30-10.50 Coffee Break
10.50-11.30 Heinrich Lang, University of Chemnitz
Organometallic Pi-Tweezers: From Heterodinuclear Transition Metal Complexes to Coordination Polymers
11.30-12.10 Polly L. Arnold, University of Nottingham
Some Organometallic Chemistry with Anionic Chelating N-Heterocyclic Carbene Ligands
12.10-13.30 Lunch
13.30-14.10 Todd B. Marder, University of Durham
Transition Metal Catalysed Boryalations Direct C-H Bond Functionalization
14.10-14.50 Prof. Barbara Albert, University of Hamburg
Boron Atom Polyhedra in Solids and Molecules
14.50-15.10 Coffee Break
15.10-15.50 Guy Orpen, University of Bristol
Synthesis of New Crystal Structures: Hydrogen-bonded Metallate Salts
15.50-16.30 Ekkehard Hahn, University of Münster
Cyclic Polycarbene Ligands with Crown Ether Structure
16.30-18.30 Poster Session
Tuesday, April 9
09.00-09.40 Robert J. Deeth, University of Warwick
Computer Modelling and Transition Metals: Beating the d-Electron Blues
09.40-10.20 Wolfgang Scherer, Technical University of Munich
Characterization of Weak Bonding Interactions by Topological Analysis of Charge Densities
10.20-10.40 Coffee Break
10.40-11.20 Peter Schwerdtfeger, University of Auckland
Anomalies in the Chemistry of Gold
11.20-12.00 Michael D. Ward, University of Bristol
Self-Assembly in Coordination Chemistry: Cages, Grids, Helicates and Rings
12.00-13.30 Lunch
13.30-14.10 Malcom Halcrow, University of Leeds
Dissecting an Enzyme: Model Compounds for the Galactose Oxidase Radical Site
14.10-14.50 Emma Raven, University of Leicester
Structure/Function Relationships in Iron containing Proteins and Enzymes
14.50-15.10 Coffee Break
15.10-15.50 Rainer Pöttgen, University of Münster
Intermetallic Lithium Compounds with Two- and Three-Dimensional Polyanions - Synthesis, Structure, and Lithium Mobility
15.50-16.30 Jens Müller, University of Bochum
From Molecules to Materials. Intermediates of the Deposition of Group 13 Nitrides
16.30-18.00 Poster Session
19.00 Conference Banquet
  Hubert Schmidbaur, (after dinner speaker)
Alchemists and Chemists in Munich: Past and Present
Wednesday, April 10
09.00-09.40 Wieland Tyrra, University of Cologne
Silver(I) Fluoride and Related Compounds in Synthetic Chemistry
09.40-10.20 Gerry A. Lawless, University of Sussex
Unique Insights into the Reactivity of Titanocene
10.20-10.40 Coffee Break
10.40-11.20 Thomas Fässler, University of Darmstadt
The Chemistry of Solid and Soluble Compounds of Group 14 Elements
11.20-12.00 Dominic Wright, University of Cambridge
Organometallic and Coordination Compounds of p Block Metals
12.10-13.30 Lunch
13.30-14.10 Christian Ganter, University of Aachen
Recent Progress in the Chemistry of Chiral Phosphaferrocenes
14.10-14.50 Dr. Gill Raid, Southampton
Recent Developments in Organoselenium and Organotellurium Chemistry
14.50-15.10 Coffee Break
15.10-15.50 Peter Scott, University of Warwick
Chiral Organometallics in Enantioselective Catalysis
15.50-16.30 Peter W. Roesky, University of Berlin
P-N-Ligands on Lanthanide Chemistry
14.50-15.10 Closing of the Conference
(T.M. Klapötke)

Organizing Committee

Prof. Dr. G. J. Leigh
Department of Chemistry
University of Sußex, England
Prof. Dr. T. M. Klapötke
Department of Chemistry
Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich, Germany
Prof. Dr. Peter Klüfers, Prof. Dr. Heinrich Nöth, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schnick, PD Dr. Konstantin Karaghiosoff (LMU)
Hubert Schmidbaur (Technical University of Munich (TUM))

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Beck (LMU)
Prof. Dr. J.F. Nixon (University of Sussex)
Prof. Dr. Ingo-Peter Lorenz (LMU)
Prof. Dr. Matthias Westerhausen (LMU)
Prof. Dr. Nils Wiberg (LMU)


The organisors of AGICHEM 2002 would like to gratefully acknowledge the generous support from the following organisations:

Degussa AG
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Fonds der chemischen Industrie
Merck, Eurolab-Vertrieb
Wacker-Chemie GmbH